Charissa Che

2 notes

They’re back.


I’ve blogged about Foster People at least 13858 times here, but it’s for good reason. Three long years’ worth of reasons.

2011’s Torches was a Pandora’s Box of earworm indie pop gems that placed the band on the brink of big things.

Maybe it has something to do with the fact that Mark Foster used to write commercial jingles, but these songs have some sort of MSG fairy dust on them. The songs were catchy, yes, but they were also super anthemic and meaningful, giving us something to latch onto way after our dance shoes wear out. (“Focus on your ability!”)

Last month, they’ve finally unveiled the first single off their sophomore LP, Supermodel. While “Coming of Age” takes the taurine levels of “Pumped Up Kicks” down a few notches, it’s every inch earworm-wiggling delicious.

In an interview with NME, Foster explained the new release as an “angry” quasi-departure: ”There are songs that act as a bridge that fans of the first record will grab onto, but also songs that show a side that wasn’t there at all.” (Read article here:

Until its release on March 18, the least we can do is speculate over what that means from the tracklist:

1. Are You What You Want to Be
2. Ask Yourself
3. Coming of Age
4. Nevermind
5. Pseudologia Fantastica
6. The Angelic Welcome of Mr. Jones
7. Best Friend
8. A Beginner’s Guide to Destroying the Moon
9. Goats in Trees
10. The Truth
11. Fire Escape  

Filed under Foster The People mark foster supermodel ftp coming of age indie rock